Harlan, Alvarez headline Wisconsin hall class - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Harlan, Alvarez headline Wisconsin hall class

by Bryon Graff

(WAOW) - Two men who oversaw a rise to success in their respective programs are voted into the Wisconsin Sports Hall of Fame.

Bob Harlan is the former president and CEO of the Packers.  Barry Alvarez coached the Wisconsin Badgers football team.

Online Reporter: Bryon Graff

Press Release Courtesy of Wisconsin Sports Development Corporation


Induction Ceremony to take Place November 20th, 2009 at the Milwaukee Theater

May 15, 2009 - Madison, WI - The 2009 Class of the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame was announced Thursday in a press conference at the Walk of Fame located outside the U.S. Cellular Arena.

The Class of 2009 includes Bob Harlan, former president and CEO of the Green Bay Packers, Judith Sweet, first female president of the NCAA, Albert "Ab" Nicholas, University of Wisconsin Badger All-American basketball player and sports philanthropist, Lee Kemp, one of the most accomplished American wrestlers of all time, John Powless, currently the top ranked senior tennis player in the world and Barry Alvarez, coach of back-to-back University of Wisconsin Rose Bowl Championships. Bob Harlan, Judith Sweet, Ab Nicholas and Lee Kemp were present at the announcement.

The induction ceremony will take place November 20th, 2009 at the Milwaukee Theater. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend. General Admission tickets are $20 and VIP tickets are available for $200. Ticket information can be found online at www.sportsinwisconsin.com, click on "WI Athletic Hall of Fame" or by calling 608.226.4780.

Qualifications for potential Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame members include having made a significant contribution or compiled a record of achievement in sport that has benefited or enhanced sport in Wisconsin or elsewhere. The said individual must be or have been a resident of Wisconsin or have substantial ties to Wisconsin and sports in Wisconsin.

Induction into the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame occurs every two years. Potential inductees are sought from the public during a specified period. Upon conclusion of the nomination period, nominees are presented to the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame Committee. The Committee then recommends the class to the board of the Wisconsin Sports Development Corporation for their approval.

The Nomination Committee is comprised of Board Members of the Wisconsin Sports Development Corporation, Wisconsin Media Members and current Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame members.

In 1951 the new Milwaukee Arena and Auditorium inaugurated the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame to honor outstanding sports figures whose achievements earned them special acclaim. Every two years another group of Hall of Fame members was selected and inducted in an awards ceremony during which a large bronze plaque immortalizing each inductee was unveiled.

Since 1951 nearly 130 individuals have been inducted into the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame, including Henry "Hank" Aaron, Bart Starr, Reggie White, Bonnie Blair and Sidney Moncrief; leaders like the legendary coaches Earl "Curly" Lambeau, Vince Lombardi and Al McGuire; and renowned announcers from Earl Gillespie to Bob Uecker.

In 2002 WSDC invited the people of Wisconsin to vote for a Hall of Fame inductee. This was the first time in the Hall of Fame's history that Wisconsin sports fans participated in the selection process. Former Green Bay Packer Fuzzy Thurston was the top vote getter, the "peoples' choice" and a fitting "first" for the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame.

2007 inductees included Dick Bennett, Cecil Cooper, Sen. Herb Kohl, Harry "Buddy" Melges, Jr., Frederick C. Miller, and Mike Webster.



Inductee biographies can be found here: http://clarity.sportsinwisconsin.com/files/HOF%2009_Inductee%20Biographies.pdf


For more about the 2009 Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame and to nominate someone, visit www.sportsinwisconsin.com and click on "Hall of Fame" or call 608-226-4780.


The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame sponsors include Time Warner Cable, NGL Insurance Group, Midwest Airlines, 540 ESPN Radio and Good Karma Broadcasting.

Wisconsin Sports Development Corporation (WSDC) is a nonprofit sports management organization whose mission is to foster participation, competition and memorable experiences through events and programs that promote health, active lifestyles and a sense of community. WSDC owns the American Family Insurance Badger State Games, the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame, Paddle & Portage, Shape Up Wisconsin Kids, Lighten Up Wisconsin and the Fit Kids Challenge.  WSDC is also the local volunteer coordinator for the Ford Ironman Wisconsin triathlon.

Powered by Frankly