Dixon wins at Milwaukee Mile - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Dixon wins at Milwaukee Mile


Dixon wins at Milwaukee Mile

Eds: APNewsNow.


AP Auto Racing Writer

WEST ALLIS, Wis. (AP) -- Scott Dixon has won the A.J. Foyt 225 at the Milwaukee Mile.

Dixon, the reigning IndyCar Series champion, passed Ryan Briscoe for the lead 25 laps from the end and pulled away to his second win of the season and the 18th of his career. Briscoe, last year's race winner who started from the pole, held on to finish second.

The win Sunday helped Dixon take the series points lead from Target Chip Ganassi teammate Dario Franchitti, who finished third in Sunday's race.

Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves, who had to start last after crashing in qualifying, had a tough day, finishing two laps off the pace in 11th.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

APNP-05-31-09 1647CDT

Powered by Frankly