Pointer men's and women's swim teams capture WIAC crown - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Pointer men's and women's swim teams capture WIAC crown

MINNEAPOLIS (PRESS RELEASE)--University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point earned its 11th consecutive Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Men's Swimming and Diving Championship that was held at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center Feb. 11-13.

The conference crown for the Pointers is the 14th in program history - the second-highest total in WIAC listings.

UW-Stevens Point captured this year's first-place trophy with 956 team points to surpass UW-La Crosse's second-place sum of 786 points. UW-Whitewater placed third with 500 points, UW-Eau Claire fourth with 496 points, UW-Oshkosh fifth with 300 and UW-River Falls sixth with 155.

UW-Stevens Point's championship splash featured three individual titles during the third day of events. Ian Girdley was victorious in the 200-yard backstroke for the second straight year with a time of 1:52.34, while Brent Schwartz successfully defended his crown in the 200-yard breaststroke with a performance of 2:03.62. Zach Desy earned the 200-yard butterfly title with a time of 1:54.23.

UW-La Crosse's Spencer Loch was victorious in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 45.13, while teammate Justin Dembski won the 1,650-yard freestyle with a clocking of 16:27.04.

Loch was a member of the victorious 400-yard freestyle relay quartet that posted a time of 3:04.33. He was joined by Matt Diehl, Joel Knuesel and Kevin Miesener.

Diehl received Swimmer of the Meet honors, while UW-Oshkosh's Phil Devine claimed the Diver of the Meet prize for the second consecutive season.

UW-Stevens Point's Chris Hruska was named the Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete, while UW-La Crosse head coach Rich Pein was voted the Coach of the Year.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. Named to the squad were: UW-Eau Claire's Chris Paradeise, UW-La Crosse's Benjamin Knutson, UW-Oshkosh's Jon Streich, UW-River Falls' Kevin O'Brien, UW-Stevens Point's Chris Hruska and UW-Whitewater's Bill Stenavich.

Swimmer of the Meet: Matt Diehl of UW-La Crosse
Diver of the Meet: Phil Devine of UW-Oshkosh
Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete: Chris Hruska of UW-Stevens Point
Coach of the Year: Rich Pein of UW-La Crosse

Day Three Individual Champions:
100-Yard Freestyle: Spencer Loch (UW-La Crosse), 45.13
1,650-Yard Freestyle: Justin Dembski (UW-La Crosse), 16:27.04
200-Yard Backstroke: Ian Girdley (UW-Stevens Point), 1:52.34
200-Yard Breaststroke: Brent Schwartz (UW-Stevens Point), 2:03.62
200-Yard Butterfly: Zach Desy (UW-Stevens Point), 1:54.23

Day Three Relay Champions:
400-Yard Freestyle Relay: UW-La Crosse (Matt Diehl, Joel Knuesel, Kevin Misener, Spencer Loch), 3:04.33

*Conference Meet Record

Powered by Frankly