Two Pointers named to All-WIAC men's first team - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Two Pointers named to All-WIAC men's first team

MADISON, Wis. (PRESS RELEASE)--University of Wisconsin-Whitewater's Dustin Mitchell was voted the Player of the Year to headline the 10 individuals selected to the 2009-10 All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Men's Basketball Team by the league coaches, while Warhawks head coach Pat Miller secured the Coach of the Year honor. 

The 11ith individual in program history to claim the conference's player of the year trophy, Mitchell leads the WIAC with 8.9 rebounds per game and a .630 field goal percentage, while ranking fifth with 18.2 points per contest, eighth with 32.15 minutes per game and ninth with .63 blocks per game. 

Mitchell has started all 27 games for the Warhawks this season and reached double-figures in scoring in 25 contests.  He scored 20 or more points in 10 games, including a career-high 29 points at UW-Platteville on Jan. 20.  Mitchell owns a league-best 11 double-doubles, including grabbing 18 rebounds in the season opener against Carthage College (Wis.) on Nov. 20.

His career totals include:  110 games played, 1,005 points, 525 rebounds and a .597 field goal percentage. 

Repeat selections on this year's first team consisted of:  UW-La Crosse's Tony Mane (2008), UW-Oshkosh's D.J. Marsh (2008, 2009/Co-Player of the Year), UW-Platteville's Curt Hanson (2008, 2009), UW-Stevens Point's Matt Moses (2009) and UW-Superior's Jake Smith (2008). 

Miller also won the coaching prize in 2006 and 2008.  This season, he directed the Warhawks to their third WIAC championship in the last five seasons and 13th in team history.  Miller is in his ninth year in charge of the squad and owns a career record of 191-60 (.761 winning percentage). 

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season.  It included one member from each school. 

2009-10 All-WIAC Men's Basketball Team

First Team

Name, School, Year, Position, Height, Hometown (High School)

Dustin Mitchell, Whitewater, Senior, Forward/Center, 6-9, Lac Du Flambeau (Lakeland)

Matt Moses, Stevens Point, Senior, Guard, 6-2, Fond du Lac (St. Mary's Springs)

D.J. Marsh, Oshkosh, Senior, Forward, 6-4, Bayside (Nicolet)

Curt Hanson, Platteville, Senior, Guard, 6-1, Deerfield, Ill.

Jake Smith, Superior, Junior, Forward, 6-6, Rhinelander

Tony Mane, La Crosse, Junior, Guard, 6-0, Milwaukee (Thomas More)

Jerrel Enerson-Matthews, Stout, Senior, Guard, 6-4, Anoka, Minn. (Andover)

Jared Jenkins, Stevens Point, Junior, Guard, 6-4, Milwaukee (Rufus King)

Eric Hostetter, Stout, Junior, Guard, 6-5, Stillwater, Minn.

Geoff Probst, Eau Claire, Senior, Forward, 6-6, Moose Lake, Minn.


Honorable Mention

Jontae Kookaew, River Falls, Junior, Guard, 5-9, Apple Valley, Minn.

Wade Guerin, River Falls, Junior, Center, 6-8, Bloomington, Minn. (St. Croix Lutheran)

Louis Hurd, Stevens Point, Junior, Forward, 6-5, Portage

Mike Bendall, Whitewater, Senior, Forward, 6-6, Oconomowoc

Trevor Stratton, La Crosse, Senior, Guard, 6-2, Wisconsin Rapids (Lincoln)

Phil Negri, Whitewater, Junior, Guard, 6-3, Minocqua (Lakeland)

Mike Shaw, Platteville, Senior, Guard, 6-1, Madison (Edgewood)


All-Sportsmanship Team

Allan Ballweg, Platteville, Senior, Guard, 5-11, Mazomanie (Sauk Prairie)

Colin Boone, Eau Claire, Senior, Guard, 6-1, Eau Claire (Memorial)

DJ Dantzler, Whitewater, Junior, Guard, 6-0, Joliet, Ill. (Joliet Township West)

Andrew Haass, La Crosse, Senior, Forward, 6-5, Mayville

Chris Jardine, Stout, Junior, Forward, 6-1, Port Wing (South Shore)

Greg Schrimpf, Oshkosh, Sophomore, Guard, 6-0, Manitowoc (Roncalli)

Spencer Shelman, River Falls, Senior, Guard, 6-3, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

Evan Sweeney, Stevens Point, Senior, Guard, 6-2, Appleton (West)

Lucas Tellijohn, Superior, Senior, Forward, 6-5, Glenwood City


Player of the Year:  Dustin Mitchell of Whitewater

Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete:  Andrew Haass of La Crosse

Coach of the Year:  Pat Miller of Whitewater


Powered by Frankly