UW's Geoffrion Is Hobey Baker Finalist - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

UW's Geoffrion Is Hobey Baker Finalist

(WAOW) - Senior forward Blake Geoffrion is one of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists for the 2010 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, the Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation announced today.

Bobby Butler, a senior forward from the University of New Hampshire, and Gustav Nyquist, a sophomore forward from the University of Maine, join Geoffrion to round out the three finalists.

Wisconsin has had nine top-10 finalists, including two this season as junior defenseman Brendan Smith was also in the running. Both Brian Elliott in 2006 and Steve Reinprecht in 2000 were among the final three candidates, but Geoffrion is UW's second "Hobey Hat Trick" finalist, a format that was first introduced in 2001. No Badger has ever won the Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

Geoffrion, a tri-captain, is one of college hockey's most complete players. He is the Badgers' top faceoff man (58.3 percent), the team's top penalty-killing forward, UW's leader and the nation's second-leading goal scorer (27), as well as the nation's top power-play goal scorer (14).

The Brentwood, Tenn., native has been at his best when it matters the most this season. In six postseason games, Geoffrion has six goals and 11 points. He also has two game-winning goals, two power-play goals and a first goal. Geoffrion leads the Badgers with 30 shots and is 60.7 percent on faceoffs (105-68) through the WCHA and NCAA tournaments. He was named the NCAA West Regional Most Outstanding Player and a member of the WCHA Final Five All-Tournament Team.

Geoffrion is the lone Hobey Hat Trick finalist still competing as he looks to lead the Badgers to their seventh NCAA title. Wisconsin takes on RIT in the semifinal round of the Frozen Four on April 8 at 4 p.m.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award was first awarded in 1981 to recognize college hockey's premier player. Ten players are selected each year as finalists for the award, which is then cut to the "Hobey Hat Trick," of three finalists.

The three finalists were selected from the initial list of Top 10 candidates by the 24-member Selection Committee and an additional round of online fan balloting to determine this year's Hobey Baker winner. Criteria for the award include strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner will be named Friday, April 9 live on ESPNU during the NCAA Frozen Four at 6 p.m. CT.


Courtesy - UW Press Release

Powered by Frankly