Three Pointers Make All-WIAC Honorable Mention for Softball - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Three Pointers Make All-WIAC Honorable Mention for Softball

MADISON (WAOW) - University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's Jenna Ahnen was voted the Position Player of the Year, while teammate Heather Schultz was voted the Pitcher of the Year to headline the 20 individuals selected to the 2010 All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Softball Team by the league coaches.  In addition, UW-La Crosse head coach Chris Helixon was tabbed the Coach of the Year.

Ahnen is the second individual in program history to claim the award, joining Kay Kueppers (2002).  A first team selection for the second straight year, Ahnen leads the conference with 67 hits, while ranking second with a .462 batting average and 145 at-bats, third with 41 runs scored, fourth with a .490 on-base percentage and 13 steals, and fifth with 11 doubles and 88 total bases.  She has recorded at least one hit in 37 of 43 games this season, including multiple hits in 23 contests.  Ahnen amassed a career-long 16-game hitting streak earlier this season and her 67 hits are a single-season school record.  She ranks second on the school's all-time chart with 173 hits and 115 runs scored.

Schultz joins Sally Wenzel (2003) as the only individuals in team listings to earn the WIAC honor.  A honorable mention pick a year ago, Schultz leads the league with 22 wins, while placing second with a 1.58 earned run average and .211 opponent batting average, and third with 154.2 innings pitched and 148 strikeouts.  She struck out five or more batters in 18 of 27 appearances, including a season-high 10 against Lakeland College on March 18 and Schreiner University (Texas) on March 19.  Her 22 wins are a single-season school record, while her career totals of 55 wins top the program's all-time listing and her 396.0 innings pitched and 278 strikeouts are second.

Repeat selections on the first team from a year ago included:  UW-Eau Claire's Aleisha Harper and Katie Stalker, UW-La Crosse's Rachel Croak, UW-Oshkosh's Whitney Tornow (Position Player of the Year) and Sydnee Wyss, UW-River Falls' Sarah Fern and Jessica Lundgren and UW-Whitewater's Lauren Cruz and Jessica Stang (Pitcher of the Year).

Tornow, Stang and Cruz also received first team recognition during the 2008 campaign with Stang collecting Pitcher of the Year honors.

Helixon directed the Eagles to their first-ever WIAC regular-season championship and second consecutive league tournament crown.  He is in his fifth season in charge of the squad and owns a 123-85 record.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season.  It included one member from each school.

2010 All-WIAC Softball Team:

First Team

Name, School, Year, Position, Hometown (High School)

Jenna Ahnen, La Crosse, Junior, Shortstop, Sparta

Rachel Croak, La Crosse, Senior, Rightfield, Greendale

Lauren Cruz, Whitewater, Senior, Leftfield, Des Plaines, Ill. (Maine West)

Sarah Fern, River Falls, Sophomore, Firstbase, Brooklyn Center, Minn. (Park Center)

Aleisha Harper, Eau Claire, Sophomore, Secondbase, Mondovi (Eau Claire North)

Amie Heinzelman, Oshkosh, Senior, Leftfield, Monroe

Kristy Hoffman, Stout, Senior, Righthanded Pitcher, Circle Pines, Minn. (Centennial)

Jessica Lundgren, River Falls, Senior, Outfield, Cushing (St. Croix Falls)

Ashley Martin, Superior, Sophomore, Secondbase, Superior

Kate McDonnell, Whitewater, Junior, Secondbase, Aurora, Ill. (West Aurora)

Patty Olson, River Falls, Sophomore, Catcher, Roseville, Minn.

Jen Parchem, Superior, Senior, Catcher, Baraboo

Cara Salm, La Crosse, Senior, Firstbase, Kimberly

Heather Schultz, La Crosse, Junior, Righthanded Pitcher, Annandale, Minn.

Katie Stalker, Eau Claire, Senior, Shortstop, Madison (La Follette)

Jessica Stang, Whitewater, Junior, Lefthanded Pitcher, Minnetonka, Minn.

Whitney Tornow, Oshkosh, Senior, Centerfield, Neenah

Rose Tusa, River Falls, Sophomore, Righthanded Pitcher, Roseville, Minn. (St. Anthony's Village)

Taylor VanDamme, Superior, Sophomore, Centerfield, Superior

Sydnee Wyss, Oshkosh, Junior, Shortstop, Monroe


Honorable Mention

Jessica Berger, Stevens Point, Senior, Shortstop, Bonduel

Hayley Buchanan, River Falls, Freshman, Secondbase, Eden Prairie, Minn.

Sarah Butts, Stevens Point, Junior, Outfield, Greenfield

Brittany Caley, Platteville, Freshman, Secondbase, Lancaster

Emily Epifanio, Whitewater, Freshman, Catcher, Park Ridge, Ill. (Maine South)

Ashley Goettl, River Falls, Freshman, Designated Player/Firstbase, North Mankato, Minn. (West)

Alison Gray, Stout, Freshman, Catcher, St. Cloud, Minn. (Apollo)

Bekki Kidnie, Eau Claire, Senior, Catcher, St. Paul, Minn. (Johnson)

Kassie Krummel, Eau Claire, Freshman, Righthanded Pitcher, Walcott, Iowa (Durant)

Kalli Kucharyski, Superior, Junior, Righthanded Pitcher, Superior

Amanda LeBeau, Whitewater, Senior, Shortstop, Worth, Ill. (Richards)

Emily Muller, Eau Claire, Sophomore, Leftfield, Lancaster
Kat Nelson, Stout, Sophomore, Outfield, Chippewa Falls

Jamie Olson, Stout, Freshman, Thirdbase, Eau Claire (North)

Alexis Podpeskar, Superior, Freshman, Righthanded Pitcher/Infield, Virginia, Minn.
Lauren Schaller, La Crosse, Freshman, Centerfield, Onalaska (Holmen)
Ashley Veroeven, La Crosse, Freshman, Righthanded Pitcher/Infield, Mankato, Minn. (West)

Melissa Wenig, Stevens Point, Senior, Secondbase, Oshkosh (West)


All-Sportsmanship Team

Courtney Baldwin, Whitewater, Senior, Secondbase, Spring Grove, Ill. (Richmond-Burton)

Nikki Bromelkamp, Eau Claire, Sophomore, Catcher/Outfield, Zumbrota, Minn. (Zumbrota-Mazeppa)

Mandy Cerqua, Platteville, Senior, Catcher, Verona

Amie Heinzelman, Oshkosh, Senior, Leftfield, Monroe

Jenna Johnson, Stout, Senior, Firstbase, Menomonie

Jamie Klein, River Falls, Sophomore, Righthanded Pitcher/Thirdbase, Elk River, Minn.

Elyse Nelson, Stevens Point, Junior, Righthanded Pitcher/Utility, Batavia, Ill.

Jen Parchem, Superior, Senior, Catcher, Baraboo

Rachel Weyer, La Crosse, Junior, Outfield, Loyall


Position Player of the Year:  Jenna Ahnen of La Crosse

Pitcher of the Year:  Heather Schultz of La Crosse
Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete:  Amanda LeBeau of Whitewater
Coach of the Year:  Chris Helixon of La Crosse


Courtesy: WIAC Press Release

Powered by Frankly