Four More Badgers Make Award Watch Lists - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Four More Badgers Make Award Watch Lists


MADISON, Wis. -- Two Badgers have been named each to the 2010 Outland Trophy Watch List and the 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced on Monday.

Senior left tackle Gabe Carimi and junior right tackle Josh Oglesby were each placed on the watch list for the Outland Trophy, which has been given annually to the nation's top interior lineman since 1946.

Junior defensive end J.J. Watt and sophomore linebacker Chris Borland were chosen for the Nagurski Trophy, an award for the nation's best defensive player. Borland is one of just five true sophomores on the 74-player list.

The winner of the Nagurski Trophy will be announced at a banquet on Dec. 6 in Charlotte, N.C., while the Outland Trophy announcement will take place at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.

Wisconsin has won the Outland Trophy before, as Joe Thomas took home the award in 2006. Aaron Gibson and Chris McIntosh were each finalists for the honor in 1998 and 1999, respectively.

Erasmus James is the only Badger to be named as a finalist for the Nagurski Trophy. That happened in 2004.

There are 137 players combined on the two lists and Wisconsin joins Texas, North Carolina, Ohio State, Oklahoma, TCU, Alabama, Boston College and Miami as the only schools to have two players appear on each list.


Courtesy: UW Press Release

Powered by Frankly