Tigerton softball honored with WIAA Sportsmanship Award - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Tigerton softball honored with WIAA Sportsmanship Award

STEVENS POINT, Wis. (PRESS RELEASE) – The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance Company,  has selected the team Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2010 Spring and Summer State Team Championships.

The winners of the prestigious award are Southwestern in spring baseball, West Salem in summer baseball, Bay Port in girls soccer, Tigerton in softball and Homestead in boys team tennis.

Southwestern was selected as winner of the award for the first time in spring baseball and for the fifth time overall. The Wildcats have won the sportsmanship honor in gymnastics with their co-op partner Cuba City on four occasions. They fell to eventual champion Catholic Central 3-0 in the Division 4 semifinal this spring. Elk Mound, Hartford Union, Kimberly, Madison La Follette, Merrill, University School of Milwaukee, Waterford and Winnebago Lutheran all received honorable mention.

West Salem was selected the winner of the award for the summer baseball tournament for the third time and for the fourth time overall. The Panthers previously received the award for summer baseball in 2002 and in 2005 for football. They defeated New Holstein 9-2 in the quarterfinals before falling 7-5 to West Bend West in the semifinals of this summer's tournament. New Holstein and Waukesha West received honorable mention.

The WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance Sportsmanship Award was awarded to Bay Port in girls soccer. The Pirates fell to Neenah 3-0 in the quarterfinals of their second State appearance in the last three years. It's the first Sportsmanship Award presented to the school and community in any sport. Aquinas, Kenosha Bradford, Madison Edgewood, St. Mary Central and Xavier received honorable mention.

Tigerton received numerous positive sportsmanship evaluations during its road to the State Division 4 title in softball. The Tigers defeated Racine Lutheran 8-2 in the final after advancing from the semifinals with a 7-3 victory over Potosi. It is their first Sportsmanship Award in any sport. Schools receiving honorable mention were Appleton East, Arcadia, Fort Atkinson, Homestead, Lancaster, Potosi, South Milwaukee, Union Grove, Watertown, Wilmot Union and Winnebago Lutheran.

Homestead finished runner-up at the State Boys Team Tennis Tournament in Division 1. The Highlanders defeated Middleton 7-0 in the quarterfinals and Eau Claire Memorial 4-3 in the semifinals before falling to Marquette in the championship match, 7-0. It's the first time Homestead has won the award in any sport. Waukesha South received honorable mention for the award.

The WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school and community in each of the State team tournaments. The award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld. Award winners receive a plaque and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition.

The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, area hotels and restaurants.

Courtesy:  WIAA

Powered by Frankly