Woodchucks Pitcher Lisi Makes Post-Season All-Star Team - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Woodchucks Pitcher Lisi Makes Post-Season All-Star Team

(ROCHESTER, MN) The Northwoods League announced its 2010 Postseason All-Star Team on Monday night. In addition to the 31 players that were selected to the honorary team, St. Cloud shortstop Steve Nyisztor was named as the Most Valuable Player while fellow River Bat left-handed pitcher Jason Wheeler was named Pitcher of the Year as voted by the League's coaches and members of the media. Duluth led all teams with five players selected while Eau Claire swept the two coaching awards.

St. Cloud River Bats shortstop Steve Nyisztor (Rutgers) brought home the NWL's top honor as League MVP. Nyisztor emerged early in the season as top run-producer and heads into the final day of the season second in the League with 55 RBI. His total bases (133) and at-bats (276) totals also place him second in the league. He's third in the League in hits (83), triples (6) and extra-base hits (28). In other key offensive categories he's batting .301 with 14 doubles, 8 home runs, and 18 stolen bases. St. Cloud sweeps the individual player awards as lefty Jason Wheeler (Loyola Marymount) is the winner of the NWL Pitcher of the Year Award. He's been dominant on the mound, first as a reliever and for most of the season as a starter, having compiled an 8-1 record and a league-leading 1.35 ERA while twice striking out 10 or more batters in a game. With a league-high 74 strikeouts entering the final day of the season, Wheeler is on the verge of claiming the Triple Crown of pitching.

The University of Illinois stands out by placing three of their players on the NWL Postseason All-Star Team. Catcher Adam Davis (.325) and shortstop Josh Parr (.307) of Madison and first baseman Matt Dittman (.325) of Rochester all have represented the Illini well with Davis and Dittman tied for 6th in the NWL in batting. There are two players apiece from California and Oklahoma State.

Eau Claire's sixth-year field manager Dale Varsho is the 2010 Manager of the Year after leading the Express to a sweep of the South Division first and second half championships and the best overall record in the NWL at 48-21. Varsho is now fourth on the all-time NWL wins list with 214. His long-time assistant coach Shawn Peck (Minnesota-Duluth) was selected as Coach of the Year. In other awards, Green Bay's Joannes Stadium was named the ballpark with the Best Playing Surface. Rochester Honkers third-year broadcaster Mike Wagenheim was recognized as the Play-by-Play Announcer of the Year.


2010 Northwoods League Postseason All-Star Team
Adam Davis C Madison Mallards SO University of Illinois
Chadd Krist C Brainerd Lakes Area Lunkers SO University of California
Matt Dittman 1B Rochester Honkers JR University of Illinois
Ryan Rieger 1B Waterloo Bucks SO Santa Clara University
Drew Heithoff 2B Eau Claire Express JR Augustana College (SD)
Carlos Leyva 2B Willmar Stingers JR Cal State, Dominguez Hills
Cody Asche 3B Duluth Huskies SO University of Nebraska
Mike Marjama 3B La Crosse Loggers SO Sacramento City College
Steve Nyisztor SS St. Cloud River Bats FR Rutgers University
Josh Parr SS Madison Mallards SO University of Illinois
Zeke DeVoss OF Duluth Huskies FR University of Miami (FL)
Kyle Gaedele OF Madison Mallards SO Valparaiso University
Scott Schebler OF Green Bay Bullfrogs SO Des Moines Area CC
John Schultz OF St. Cloud River Bats JR University of Pittsburgh
Jordan Smith OF Willmar Stingers FR St. Cloud State University (MN)
DeMarcus Tidwell OF Eau Claire Express SO Yavapai College (AZ)
Chris O'Dowd DH La Crosse Loggers FR Dartmouth College
Mark Threlkeld DH Duluth Huskies SO Louisiana Tech University
Sander Beck RHP Alexandria Beetles SO University of Maryland
Ian Campbell RHP Eau Claire Express JR Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Robbie Collier LHP Duluth Huskies JR University of North Florida
Dietrich Enns LHP Eau Claire Express FR Central Michigan University
Matt Flemer RHP La Crosse Loggers SO University of California
Ben Hughes RHP Duluth Huskies SO St. Olaf College (MN)
Owen Jones RHP Green Bay Bullfrogs SO University of Portland
Don Lisi RHP Wisconsin Woodchucks JR Oklahoma State University
Taylor Massey LHP Waterloo Bucks SO Weatherford College (TX)
Sam Selman LHP Mankato MoonDogs FR Vanderbilt University
Rusty Shellhorn LHP Madison Mallards SO Washington State University
Mike Strong LHP Rochester Honkers JR Oklahoma State University
Jason Wheeler LHP St. Cloud River Bats SO Loyola Marymount University
Postseason Awards:
Most Valuable Player
Steve Nyisztor SS St. Cloud River Bats FR Rutgers University
    Pitcher of the Year
Jason Wheeler LHP St. Cloud River Bats SO Loyola Marymount University
    Manager of the Year
Dale Varsho   Eau Claire Express    
    Coach of the Year
Shawn Peck   Eau Claire Express   University of Minnesota-Duluth
    Best Playing Surface
Joannes Stadium   Green Bay Bullfrogs    
    Play-by-Play Announcer of the Year
Mike Wagenheim   Rochester Honkers    



Courtesy: Northwoods League Press Release

Powered by Frankly