Tuesday Race Recap From Eagle River - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Tuesday Race Recap From Eagle River

Rhinelander's Dustin and Brandon Miller both won their respective features at Eagle River Speedway on Tuesday night.  However it was the pure stock feature that Dustin Miller won that will be remembered as one of the closest races at the thirty-five year history of the track.
Dustin was trailing Eagle River's Ryan Valeria throughout the entire race, then on the final turn to the checkered flag, Miller took the inside line to make it a 'photo-finish.'  A finish that actually had all the officials and the flagmen conferring as to who would be declared the winner.  While both Valeria and Miller waited to see who would go to victory lane,  the decision was made that Miller won the race.
Miller went into the night with a 567 points, and Ontonagon, Michigan's Ryan Huff had 566 points.  Both Miller and Huff won their respective heat races.  Then in the first lap of the feature, Huff hit the wall and was knocked out of the race.
In the sport four class, Brandon Miller kept Manitowish Waters' Phil Malouf on his bumper throughout the race, to give another Miller a feature win.
In the junior sprint class, Antigo's Tanner Resch and Race Gunderson went into the night with 262 points.  Gunderson won the heat race, but Tanner won the feature.  In the micro sprints, Yanner's 11 year old 'older' brother, Robby Resch won another feature.
The Wissota midwest modified class had defending champion Jason Zdroik's point lead cut to only five points over Twin Lakes, Michigan's Jesse Aho after the heat race, however Zdroik would pick up a couple points with the feature win.  In the Wissota street stock, the point champion for the past three years, Hurley's John Kallas, went into the night trailing Eagle River's Ben Pitlik by 16 points.  Kallas cut into that deficit with a feature win.
This coming Tuesday night is the final Tuesday night of racing at Eagle River Speedway, with the points championship being on Sunday night, September 5th.
Courtesy: Eagle River Speedway
Powered by Frankly