UW's Leuer a Candidate for Senior CLASS Award - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

UW's Leuer a Candidate for Senior CLASS Award

MADISON (WAOW) - Wisconsin senior forward Jon Leuer is among the 30 NCAA men's basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court to be selected as candidates for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, it was announced Wednesday.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Wisconsin's Alando Tucker won the Senior CLASS Award for the 2006-07 season.

Leuer is one of four Big Ten Conference players selected as candidates this season, joining Minnesota's Blake Hoffarber, Ohio State's David Lighty and Purdue's E'Twaun Moore. Leuer also has been named preseason All-Big Ten and a candidate for the John R. Wooden Award presented the nation's top player.

The 2011 men's candidate class includes three CoSIDA Academic All-Americans from a year ago, nine student-athletes on the preseason watch list for the Wooden Award, 16 players with grade-point averages of 3.0 and above and eight from teams ranked in the Associated Press preseason top 25.

Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the men's basketball Senior CLASS Award winner at the NCAA Men's Final Four in Houston.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

2010-11 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Men's Basketball Candidates

Kevin Anderson, Guard, Richmond

John Ashworth, Guard, IUPUI

Devon Beitzel, Guard, Northern Colorado

Noah Dahlman, Forward, Wofford

Malcolm Delaney, Guard, Virginia Tech

Dodie Dunson, Guard, Bradley

Kenneth Faried, Center, Morehead State

Jimmer Fredette, Guard, BYU

Dairese Gary, Guard, New Mexico

Devin Gibson, Guard, Texas San Antonio

Jeremy Hazell, Guard, Seton Hall

Blake Hoffharber, Guard, Minnesota

Matt Howard, Forward, Butler

Gary Johnson, Forward, Texas

Cameron Jones, Guard, Northern Arizona

Rob Keefer, Guard, Lehigh

Andrew Keister, Forward/Center, Holy Cross

Kenny Lawson, Jr., Center, Creighton

Jon Leuer, Forward, Wisconsin

David Lighty, Guard, Ohio State

Mickey McConnell, Guard, St. Mary's (Calif.)

Brendan McKillop, Guard, Davidson

E'Twaun Moore, Guard, Purdue

Jacob Pullen, Guard, Kansas State

Tyrel Reed, Guard, Kansas

Damian Saunders, Forward, Duquesne

Xavier Silas, Guard, Northern Illinois

Kyle Singler, Forward, Duke

Chris Warren, Guard, Mississippi

Chris Wright, Forward, Dayton


Courtesy: UW Press Release

Powered by Frankly