Wisconsin's Watt wins Lott Trophy - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Wisconsin's Watt wins Lott Trophy


NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. (AP) -- J.J. Watt of Wisconsin has won the Lott Trophy.

Watt received the award named for Hall of Fame defensive back Ronnie Lott on Sunday night at the Pacific Club. It honors on-field performance and personal character among defensive players.

Watt led the Rose Bowl-bound Badgers with 21 tackles for loss, 10 quarterback hurries and seven sacks this season. He also forced three fumbles, recovered two, had an interception and blocked three kicks. He is the first Wisconsin player to win the award.

The other finalists were Sam Acho of Texas, Casey Matthews of Oregon and Patrick Peterson of LSU.

Wisconsin will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly