Big Ten unveils new logo, division names - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Big Ten unveils new logo, division names


COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) -- It'll be the Leaders vs. the Legends divisions when the Big Ten stages its first football championship game next season.

The conference also on Monday unveiled a new logo -- it is a block "Big Ten" with the numeral 10 embedded in the word last two letters of Big -- as well as two-person trophy names for 18 new football awards, including the Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy and the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year.

With Nebraska becoming the conference's 12th team earlier this year, the conference created new divisions that it introduced in September. Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin will be in the Leaders Division, with Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern in the Legends Division.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly