Pointers finish 3rd in WIAC championships, Engelland wins 184 ti - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Pointers finish 3rd in WIAC championships, Engelland wins 184 title

PLATTEVILLE – Ben Engelland successfully defended his Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference title in the 184 pound weight class at the 2011 WIAC Wrestling Championships, hosted by UW-Platteville.

As a team the Pointers finished third at the six team event, collecting 103 team points. UW-La Crosse took home the WIAC championship, their 14th straight. UW-Whitewater finished second.

Engelland, who received a first round by as the top seed, needed just one victory over Andrew Pettit of UW-Whitewater to reach the championship match. There, he squared off against his brother, Sam, from UW-Oshkosh.

Sam took the early 2-0 lead with a takedown in the first period and Ben recorded an escape just four seconds later to make the score 2-1. In the second period Ben recorded another escape to tie the score at 2-2.

In the third Ben recorded a takedown with 16 seconds remaining to cap the dramatic victory and successfully defend his title and defeat his brother.

Elsewhere, Joe Mileski finished fourth at 125, Jordan Kust finished fourth at 133, Shane Sweeney finished fifth at 141, Kris Magruder finished as the runner-up at 149 pounds, Ben Strobel finished second at 157 pounds, Jordan Schulte finished as runner-up at 165 pounds, Ryan Conat finished third at 174 pounds, Chad Gregory finished as runner-up at 197 pounds, falling 3-2 in the championship match and Steve Wozniak finished third at heavyweight, winning his third place match by pin at 4:43.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. It included one member from each school. Named to the squad were: UW-Eau Claire's Will Christ, UW-La Crosse's Adam Sheley, UW-Oshkosh's Alec Hakes, UW-Platteville's Mack Drees, UW-Stevens Point's Coulter Nyenhuis and UW-Whitewater's Reid Dickerson.

All 10 WIAC champions, along with eight at-large qualifiers, will participate in the NCAA Division III Championship in La Crosse, Wis. The national event will be hosted by UW-La Crosse at the La Crosse Center March 11-12.

Individuals securing at-large spots included: UW-La Crosse's Mitch Artist (184 pounds), UW-Oshkosh's Sam Engelland (184 pounds), UW-Platteville's Mack Drees (125 pounds), UW-Stevens Point's Kris Magruder (149 pounds), Chad Gregory (197 pounds) and Jordan Schulte (165 pounds), along with UW-Whitewater's Jake Fredrickson (133 pounds) and James Zarate (285 pounds).

Courtesy: UWSP Sports Information

Powered by Frankly