UWSP Men Place 4 on All-WIAC Teams - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

UWSP Men Place 4 on All-WIAC Teams

MADISON (Press Release) – Four members of the UW-Stevens Point men's basketball team were named to the All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) on Monday morning.

Senior's Louis Hurd and Nick Krull along with sophomore Jerrel Harris earned First Team honors while senior Vinny Ritchay was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

Hurd, a team captain, was named to his second straight All-WIAC team as received Honorable Mention recognition in last year's campaign. The senior forward started all 27 games for the Pointers averaging 11.4 points per game, second on the team, while ranking third in rebounds at 4.7 and seals at 1.2 per contest.   Hurd became the 30th player in Pointers history to surpass the 1,000 point mark in his career and currently stands in 18th place with 1,217 career points. He scored a season-high 22 points and grabbed eight rebounds in an 84-52 victory over UW-Superior in the WIAC semifinals guiding the Pointers to an eventual WIAC Tournament Championship.

Krull makes his first appearance on the All-WIAC team in his final season with the Pointers. The senior started in all 27 games and lead the Pointers in minutes logging 26.9 per contest. He averaged 5.3 points while shooting at a 55.7 percent clip. The forward finished second on the team in rebounding (4.8 per game) and steals (1.3 per game) while dishing out 2.1 assists per contest. Krull also recorded the only double-double this season when he scored 10 points and grabbed 10 rebounds at La Crosse helping the Pointers clinch the WIAC regular season title.

Harris also earned First Team All-WIAC, his first. The sophomore guard started in 25 games and led the Pointers in scoring (15.3 points per game), assists (2.8), steals (1.5), field goal attempts (253), three-point attempts (88) and free throws made (87). Harris also lead the Pointers 14 of 27 times in scoring and notched a career-high 28 points on 7-of-12 shooting while recording eight assists in 86-70 victory over UW-River Falls.

Ritchay made his first appearance on the All-WIAC team after being chosen for the All-Sportsmanship Team. In his final season, the guard appeared in all 27 games averaging 5.3 points and 2.0 rebounds per game while shooting a blistering 59.5 percent from three. He scored a career-high 14 points on 5-of-8 shooting against UW-River Falls and scored in double-digits in five games this season. 

UW-La Crosse's Tony Mane and UW-Superior's Jake Smith shared WIAC Player of the Year honors while UW-River Falls' Head Coach Jeff Berkhof was honored as WIAC Coach of the Year. Mane was also named Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete along with Phil Negri of UW-Whitewater.

The fourth-ranked Pointers (24-3) will be making their tenth NCAA Division III Tournament appearance thanks to their automatic bid they received from winning the WIAC Tournament on Saturday. The Pointers will head to Concordia (Wis.) where they will face St. Norbert in the opening round on Friday, March 4th. 

2010-11 All-WIAC Men's Basketball Team
First Team

Name, School, Year, Position, Hometown (High School)
Tony Mane, La Crosse, Senior, Guard, Milwaukee, Wis. (Thomas More)
Jake Smith, Superior, Senior, Guard/Forward, Rhinelander, Wis.
Jerrel Harris, Stevens Point, Sophomore, Guard, Milwaukee, Wis. (Dominican)
Chris Davis, Whitewater, Junior, Forward, Madison, Wis. (East)
Jake Voeltz, River Falls, Senior, Forward, River Falls, Wis.
Nick Allen, Platteville, Senior, Guard, Barneveld, Wis.
Shane Manor, River Falls, Junior, Guard, Altoona, Wis.
Louis Hurd, Stevens Point, Senior, Forward, Portage, Wis.
Eric Hostetter, Stout, Senior, Guard, Stillwater, Minn.
Nick Krull, Stevens Point, Senior, Forward, Marshall, Wis.

Honorable Mention
John Flanigan, Oshkosh, Junior, Forward, Oshkosh, Wis. (North)
Jontae Koonkaew, River Falls, Senior, Guard, Apple Valley, Minn.
Eric Wall, Platteville, Senior, Forward, Kaukauna, Wis.
Antone Byrd, Whitewater, Sophomore, Guard, Milwaukee, Wis. (Washington)
Marcus Ruh, Eau Claire, Sophomore, Guard, Green Bay, Wis. (Bay Port)
Amadou Fofana, Eau Claire, Senior, Center, Appleton, Wis. (West)
Alex Edmunds, Whitewater, Junior, Forward, Cedarburg, Wis.
Chas Cross, Platteville, Freshman, Forward, Winnebago, Ill.
Dan Culy, Superior, Senior, Guard, Rice Lake, Wis.
Jordan Rumpel, La Crosse, Junior, Forward, Arcadia, Wis.

All-Sportsmanship Team
Amadou Fofana, Eau Claire, Senior, Center, Appleton, Wis. (West)
Jeff Heiden, La Crosse, Junior, Guard, Arlington Heights, Ill. (Prospect)
Cory Wittwer, Oshkosh, Senior, Guard, Fall Creek, Wis.
Matt Weik, Platteville, Junior, Forward, Freeport, Ill.
Danny Johnson, River Falls, Senior, Guard, Stillwater, Minn.
Vinny Ritchay, Stevens Point, Senior, Guard, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. (Lincoln)
Mahlon Thomas, Stout, Senior, Forward, Brooklyn Park, Minn. (Park Center)
Greg Roeder, Superior, Senior, Center, Mercer, Wis.
Phil Negri, Whitewater, Senior, Guard, Minocqua, Wis. (Lakeland)

Co-Players of the Year: Tony Mane of La Crosse and Jake Smith of Superior
Coach of the Year: Jeff Berkhof of River Falls
Max Sparger Co-Scholar-Athletes: Tony Mane of La Crosse and Phil Negri of Whitewater


Courtesy: UWSP Press Release

Powered by Frankly