Rhinelander Grad Smith Named a Jostens Trophy Finalist - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Rhinelander Grad Smith Named a Jostens Trophy Finalist

MADISON (Press Release) - Three Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) individuals have been named finalists for the prestigious 2011 Jostens Trophy by members of the Rotary Club of Salem, Va.  UW-La Crosse's Tony Mane and UW-Superior's Jake Smith were among the 10 men's finalists, while UW-Eau Claire's Hannah Mesick is one of 11 women's contenders.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men's and women's Division III basketball players of the year.  The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service.  The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded Division III student-athlete.  This year's class marks the 14th year the award has been presented.

Joining Mane and Smith on the men's ballot are:  Zachary Ashworth of University of Scranton (Pa.); Sam Burum of St. Mary's College (Md.); Steve Djurickovic of Carthage College; Ian Franks of College of Wooster (Ohio); Scott Gillespie of Ripon College; Austin Meier of Milwaukee School of Engineering; Kyle Nelson of Augustana College (Ill.); and Jeff Weberg of Concordia University-Chicago (Ill.).

Additional women's finalists include:  Jessica Berry of Utica College (N.Y.); Erin Hollinger of Case Western Reserve University (Ohio); Chelsea McTigue of Immaculata College (Pa.), Katy Meyer of Webster University (Mo.); Chelsie Schweers of Christopher Newport University (Va.), Lyndsey Seewald of Carroll University (Wis.); Kathryn Stockbower of Swarthmore College (Pa.); Elizabeth Sunderhaus of Cedar Crest College (Pa.); Mary Wilkowski of Hamline University (Minn.); and Ashley Wright of Endicott College (Mass.).

UW-Stout's Julia Hirssig won the women's award a year ago, while UW-Oshkosh's Kay Mikolajczak claimed the honor in 2004.


Courtesy: WIAC Press Release

Powered by Frankly