Radio shines in 2010 Peabody Award winners - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Radio shines in 2010 Peabody Award winners


ATHENS, Ga. (AP) -- The winners of the 2010 Peabody Awards include some of the biggest names in television, though the age-old medium of radio shined this year with eight awards.

Winners announced Thursday by the University of Georgia include "The Moth Radio Hour," which celebrates storytelling, and WNYC's series "Radiolab," a scientific exploration show. Others include "Trafficked," a Youth Radio investigation into child sex-trafficking with vivid first-person accounts.

National Public Radio got three awards, including one for its coverage of Pakistan.

TV winners include HBO's "The Pacific" and FX's "Justified." Award-winning HBO movie "Temple Grandin," starring Claire Danes, also got a nod.

The awards recognize achievement and public service by TV and radio stations, networks, producing organizations, individuals and the Internet. UGA's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication has administered the Peabodys in Athens since 1940.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly