Marathon Boys Hoops Team Honored for Sportsmanship - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Marathon Boys Hoops Team Honored for Sportsmanship

STEVENS POINT (Press Release) - The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance, has selected the team Sportsmanship Awards for the 2011 winter State Tournaments.    

    The winners of the prestigious award are New Richmond in boys ice hockey, River Falls Co-op in girls ice hockey, Mineral Point in wrestling, Platteville/Belmont/Lancaster in gymnastics, Marathon in boys basketball and Black Hawk in girls basketball.

    New Richmond was chosen as the winner of the boys hockey Sportsmanship Award for its exemplary sportsmanship at the State Hockey Tournament. It is the first sportsmanship honor presented to the Tigers in hockey and their second overall. They also received the award in summer baseball in 2001. The Tigers qualified for State for the first time since 2003 and fell 5-0 in the quarterfinals to eventual champion Wausau West.  Honorable mention went to Marquette.
   The River Falls co-op, which included Baldwin-Woodville, Glenwood City, St. Croix Central and Spring Valley this season, won its third consecutive Sportsmanship Award in girls hockey to go with its third straight State championship. The Fusion defeated the Appleton West co-op 7-1 in the semifinals and the Mosinee co-op 3-2 in four overtimes in the championship final. The Mosinee co-op and the Appleton West co-op received honorable mention recognition.
   Mineral Point receives its first Sportsmanship Award in wrestling and in any sport following its display of sportsmanship at the State Team Wrestling Tournament. The Pointers finished runner-up in Division 3 this season. They fell to Coleman, 52-13, in the championship match after advancing with a 36-34 win over Clear Lake in the semifinals. Campbellsport, Coleman, Hartford Union, Holmen, Lodi, Oostburg and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln received honorable mention for the award.

    Platteville/Belmont/Lancaster receives the sportsmanship award for the second consecutive season. The co-op program placed second in Division 2 at the WIAA State Gymnastics Championships in March. The schools and communities receiving honorable mention include Antigo, Ashland, Elkhorn, Holmen, Milton, Oshkosh West/North/Lourdes, River Valley, Sheboygan South/North, West Salem/Aquinas and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

    Division 4 champion Marathon was selected over a number of contenders for the award at the Boys State Basketball Tournament. The Red Raiders displayed outstanding sportsmanship, enthusiasm and community support in their 52-43 championship game victory over Grantsburg and in its 68-50 win over Oostburg in the semifinals. It is the school's first Sportsmanship Award in basketball and its second overall. Marathon was bestowed the honor in girls basketball in 1987. Receiving honorable mention include Clayton, Blair-Taylor, Grantsburg, Green Bay N.E.W. Lutheran, Lakeside Lutheran, Little Chute, Oostburg, Randolph and Wauzeka-Steuben.    

    Black Hawk was selected as the sportsmanship award winner in girls basketball for the second straight year after winning the district's first sportsmanship honor last year. The Warriors fell 64-40 to eventual Division 5 champion Newman Catholic in the semifinals. Dominican, Middleton, Nicolet, Oostburg, Prairie du Chien, Westby and Whitefish Bay received honorable mention.        

    The WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school and community in each of the State team tournaments. The award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld. Award winners receive a plaque and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition.    
   The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, area hotels and restaurants.


Courtesy: WIAA Press Release

Powered by Frankly