UWSP's Egner named WBCA Division 3 coach of the year - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

UWSP's Egner named WBCA Division 3 coach of the year


MADISON – UW-Stevens Point head women's basketball coach Shirley Egner has been named the recipient of the 2011 Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Division III Women's Coach of the Year. 

This marks the second straight season Egner has taken home the top Division III coaching award in the state. Egner's team finished the season with a 27-3 overall record and posted just the sixth undefeated record in Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) history with a 16-0 mark. During the season the team set a new program record with 20 consecutive victories from 12/19 to 3/5. 

The Pointers took home the league's regular season and tournament championship. The Pointers advanced to the Sweet 16 for the third straight season before falling to George Fox. 

The 2010-11 team set records for three point field goals made (171) and scored the third-most points in school history (2,226). The team ranked second in all of Division III in field-goal percentage (.468), fourth in assist/turnover ratio (+1.2), seventh in turnover margin (+7.68) and eighth in both win-loss percentage (.900) and assists per game (17.7). The Pointers also led the WIAC in scoring offense (74.2 ppg), scoring margin (+16.2) field goal percentage, three-point field goal percentage (.367), assists (532) turnover margin and assist/turnover ratio. 

Courtesy: UWSP Sports Information

During the 2010-11 campaign, Coach Egner recorded her 400th win as head coach at UW-Stevens Point, just the second WIAC women's basketball coach to accomplish the feat. For her efforts she was awarded her fourth WIAC Coach of the Year award. 

Egner guided a 2010-11 senior class that finished with an overall record of 101-19 and won four straight WIAC Tournament Championships. The group made four straight NCAA tournament appearances and three times advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16 and once appeared in the Elite Eight. The group also won two WIAC regular season regular season titles. 

Powered by Frankly