Rodgers wins ESPY award - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Rodgers wins ESPY award

LOS ANGELES (AP) -- Dirk Nowitzki picked up a pair of trophies, including male athlete of the year, and his Dallas Mavericks were chosen the best team Wednesday night at the ESPY Awards.

Nowitzki also won as best NBA player, while Rick Carlisle was named best coach for leading the Mavericks to the NBA championship during ESPN's live telecast from the Nokia Theatre.

Olympic gold medalist Lindsey Vonn won her second straight female athlete of the year award, while Bruins goaltender Tim Thomas and Phillies ace Roy Halladay each took home two awards.

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers (NFL player), Blake Griffin of the Los Angeles Clippers (breakthrough athlete), Rafael Nadal (male tennis player) and Serena Williams (female tennis player) were individual award winners.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly