Badgers Name Captains for 2011 Football Season - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Badgers Name Captains for 2011 Football Season


MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Wisconsin says it's selected newcomer Russell Wilson as captain along with defensive tackle Patrick Butrym, fullback Bradie Ewing and safety Aaron Henry.

Wilson, a quarterback who is expected to start, transferred to Wisconsin from North Carolina State earlier this year after playing professional baseball. He has a year of football eligibility left and was immediately eligible to play for the Badgers because he had already graduated from North Carolina State.

Butrym is expected to help fill a void left when defensive end J.J. Watt left for the NFL. Ewing is the primary blocker for running backs James White and Montee Ball. Henry led team in fumbles recovered while finishing second in interceptions and passes defended.

Wisconsin opens its season Sept. 1 against UNLV.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly