Wausau standouts make WIAC all-time team - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Wausau standouts make WIAC all-time team

MADISON (WAOW) - Legendary Wausau High School basketball coach Ken Anderson was named to the WIAC's all-time team as a co-coach with Bo Ryan.

Former Wausau High School standout Frank Schade made the all-time team as well.  Schade played for Anderson at both Wausau and UW-Eau Claire.

Anderson coached at Wausau High school before he took over at UW-Eau Claire, where he led the Blugolds to a 631-152 all-time record.

  Below is the press release naming the all-time team.

MADISON (PRESS RELEASE) - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced the Men's Basketball All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration.   All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history.  Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

Three former Pointers made the list, Jason Kalsow, Tim Naegeli and Terry Porter.

Jason Kalsow, 2002-2005
- Member of 2004 & 2005 NCAA Division III National Championship teams.
- School's all-time leading scorer (1,859 points) and rebounder (883).
- 2005 NCAA Division III National Player of the Year and D3hoops.com All-Decade Team.
- Hit game-winning shot in 2004 National Championship game.
- 2010 UWSP Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee
Tim Naegeli, 1984-87
- Graduated as the all-time leading scorer in UW-Stevens Point men's basketball history with 1,649 points
- Two-time All-WSUC performer as the Pointers won WSUC titles during each of his four seasons and posted an overall 98-22 record
- Held school record for career field goals made with 689 and played in 117 career games
- School's outstanding male athlete in a team sport and WSUC Player of the Year as a senior and was drafted in the sixth round of the 1987 NBA draft by the Boston Celtics
- 2000 UWSP Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee

Terry Porter, 1982-85
- Conference Player of the Year and first-team NAIA All-American in 1984 and 1985, leading team to NAIA runner-up finish in 1984
- Scored 1,585 career points, averaging 16.7 points over his final three years
- Two-time NBA All-Star and first round draft choice (24th overall) by the Portland Trailblazers in 1985, playing in 1,274 games in 17 NBA seasons
- Also played for the Minnesota Timberwolves, Miami Heat and San Antonio Spurs and spent two seasons as head coach of Milwaukee Bucks
- 1992 UWSP Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee
Men's Basketball All-Time Team

Name School Years Participated Hometown (High School)*
Merrill Brunson UW-Platteville 1997-2000 Richland Center, Wis.
Tony Carr UW-Eau Claire 1979-82 Beloit, Wis. (Memorial)
Tim Dworak UW-Oshkosh 2000-03 Kewaunee, Wis.
Ty Evans UW-Whitewater 1993-94 Beloit, Wis. (Memorial)
Gib Hinz UW-Eau Claire 1977-80 Winneconne, Wis.
Ben Hoffmann UW-Platteville 1995-98 Hartford, Wis. (Union)
Jason Kalsow UW-Stevens Point 2002-05 Huntley, Ill.
Roger Kuss UW-River Falls 1951-53 River Falls, Wis.
Aubrey Lewis-Byers UW-Whitewater 2000-03 Janesville, Wis. (Craig)
Rich Melzer UW-River Falls 2001-04 Minneapolis, Minn. (River Falls, Wis.)
Tim Naegeli UW-Stevens Point 1984-87 Racine, Wis.
Terry Porter UW-Stevens Point 1982-85 Milwaukee, Wis. (South Division)
Mike Ratliff UW-Eau Claire 1969-72 Racine, Wis. (Horlick)
Frank Schade UW-Eau Claire 1970-72 Wausau, Wis.
Ralph Sims UW-Oshkosh 1975-78 Waukegan, Ill. (East)
Chester Smith UW-Eau Claire 1984-85 Dallas, Texas (Wilmer Hutchins)
Joe Werner UW-La Crosse 2004-07 Chippewa Falls, Wis. (McDonell)
Men's Basketball All-Time Co-Coaches:  Ken Anderson (UW-Eau Claire) (1969-95) and 
Bo Ryan (UW-Platteville) (1985-99)
Powered by Frankly