Pointers well represented on all-time WIAC team - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Pointers well represented on all-time WIAC team


MADISON (PRESS RELEASE) - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced the Women's Basketball All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration.   All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history.  Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

Four former Pointers made the list, Kari Groshek, Amanda Nechuta, Britta Petersen (Luck/Luck) and Sonja Sorenson, along with head coach Shirley Egner.

Kari (Groshek) Zdroik, 1998-2002
- Member of the 2001-2002 Division III National Championship Team
- Eleventh player to score 1,000 points, finished third all-time with 1,414 points
- Scored 495 points in 2001-2002 and ranks fourth all time in career rebounds with 679
- Won the NCAA Top VIII Award, WIAC Player of the Year, WIAC Scholar Athlete Award, was named second-team Verizon Academic All-American and a top ten finalists for the Jostens Trophy in 2002 
- 2008 UWSP Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee
Amanda Nechuta, 2002-05
- Three-time WIAC First Team selection
- Two-time WIAC Player of the Year
- Two-time WBCA Kodak All-American
- 2005 NCAA Division III Player of the Year
- UWSP all-time leading scorer
- 2002 NCAA National Champion
Britta Petersen (Luck/Luck), 2007-11
- 2011 D3hoops.com Central Region Player of the Year
- 2011 WIAC Player of the Year
- Three-time WIAC First Team selection
- Fourth all-time in scoring, second in made field goals in UWSP history
- 2010 WIAC Player of the Year Finalist
- 2009 WIAC Player of the Year Finalist

Sonja (Sorenson) Nellis, 1985-88
- Led NCAA Division III national championship team in scoring with 499 points and 272 rebounds in 1986-87
- Scored 21.3 points per game in 1987-88 and 19.9 points per game while totaling 1,653 points for her career
- Named to All-American team in both 1987 and 1988
- Three-time All-District selection from 1986-88
- 1995 UWSP Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee
Shirley Egner, 1990-present
- Compiled a 409-173 overall record in her 22 seasons, ranking second on the all-time WIAC wins list. 
- Over the last 10 seasons, has guided the Pointers to an average of 23 wins per season and her all-time coaching record, including high school, is 550-228.
- Four-time WIAC Coach of the Year honoree, earning the award in 2003-04, 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2010-2011.
- 2010 Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Inductee
- Named Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Division III Women's Coach of the Year the past two years.
- 2010-11 set school-record 20-game win streak and became just the sixth team in WIAC history to post a perfect 16-0 conference record.
- In 2010-11 posted 18th-best GPA among NCAA Division III teams. As a team, UWSP women's basketball student-athletes compiled a 3.459 team GPA.
- Led the Pointers to the 2001-02 NCAA Division III championship with a 67-65 win over St. Lawrence (N.Y.).

Women's Basketball All-Time Team
Name School Years Particpated Hometown (High School)*
Jayme Anderson UW-Eau Claire 1999-2000 Janesville, Wis. (Parker)
Kristi Channing UW-Eau Claire 2000-03 Fall Creek, Wis.
Sue Christiansen UW-Eau Claire 1987-90 Shoreview, Minn. (Mounds View)
Kelsey Duoss UW-Stout 2005-07 Janesville, Wis. (Clinton)
Kari Groshek UW-Stevens Point 1998-2002 Rosholt, Wis.
Julia Hirssig UW-Stout 2007-10 Rochester, Minn. (Mayo)
Julie Maki UW-Stout 1990-93 Owen, Wis. (Owen-Withee)
Arlene Meinholz UW-Eau Claire 1992-95 DeForest, Wis.
Kay Mikolajczak UW-Eau Claire/
2001/02-04 Franklin, Wis.
Amanda Nechuta UW-Stevens Point 2002-05 Mosinee, Wis.
Britta Petersen (Luck/Luck) UW-Stevens Point 2007-11 Luck, Wis.
Erika Schmidt UW-Eau Claire 1994-97 Marshfield, Wis. (Columbus)
Sonja Sorenson UW-Stevens Point 1985-88 Manawa, Wis.
Holly Spoo UW-River Falls/
1995/96-98 New Richmond, Wis.
Wendy Wangerin UW-Oshkosh 1993-96 Waukesha, Wis. (South)
Women's Basketball All-Time Co-Coaches:  Shirley Egner (UW-Stevens Point) (1990-present) and Lisa Stone (UW-Eau Claire) (1989-2000)

WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner remarked that this has been an extremely difficult process given the 100-year span and incomparable success the conference has experienced in most of its sports. Karner noted that in some sports, even achieving All-American status didn't necessarily guarantee an athlete a spot on the team. He also acknowledged that while disagreement is inherent and expected whenever there is a selection of an all-time anything (be it a team, restaurant or movie), the conference nonetheless felt it important to recognize student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the success of the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history.
The student-athlete representation on each team has relied heavily on input provided by the sports information director from each of the nine WIAC campuses, while the process for selecting the head coach(es) for each team also includes input from a panel of media representatives. The number of individuals selected per team varies depending upon the nature of the sport itself as well as the number of years the sport has/had been sponsored within the conference.
The conference has also elected to establish a special "legacy" category to recognize those student-athletes and coaches who had extremely accomplished careers but competed during an era(s) when the compilation of statistical data was spotty at best and/or the style of play at that time does not translate for comparative purposes to the stats prevalent in the modern era. The WIAC "Legacy Team" will also be named at a later date. 

All-Time Team members will receive certificates from the conference and it is hoped that most, if not all, of the recipients will be in attendance or represented at the WIAC Centennial Banquet to be held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison on August 4, 2012.

More information on the activities and events associated with the WIAC Centennial can be accessed via the WIAC website at www.wiacsports.com.

Powered by Frankly