Hunter-Reay wins IndyCar race at Milwaukee - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Hunter-Reay wins IndyCar race at Milwaukee



WEST ALLIS, Wis. (AP) -- Ryan Hunter-Reay found his way back to victory lane at the Milwaukee Mile, holding off Tony Kanaan on Saturday.

   It was the sixth career victory and first this season for Hunter-Reay, who brought home a victory for the man who brought the historic but financially troubled Milwaukee track back to IndyCar -- car owner Michael Andretti, who served as the race promoter.

   It wasn't the first triumph at Milwaukee for Hunter-Reay, who won the 2004 race there in the now-defunct Champ Car Series.

   Kanaan was second, followed by James Hinchcliffe, Oriol Servia and E.J. Viso.

   The start of the race was delayed about an hour and a half because of rain.

   (Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Powered by Frankly