DNR bans burning in 11 southern Wis. counties - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

DNR bans burning in 11 southern Wis. counties


Dry weather has prompted the Department of Natural Resources to impose emergency burning restrictions in 11 southern Wisconsin counties.

The restrictions take effect at 12:01 a.m. Friday.

The ban includes smoking outdoors, all fireworks, and outdoor disposal of ashes, charcoal briquettes, matches or any burning material. Campfires are allowed only at camping areas within a metal fire ring.

The Capital Times reports municipalities with scheduled holiday fireworks are not under the order. But several cities and villages already have postponed or canceled fireworks displays for the Fourth of July.

The counties include all of Crawford, Richland, Sauk, Columbia, Marquette and Green Lake counties, and parts of Iowa, Grant, Dane, Adams and Juneau counties.

The DNR says the ban will stay in place until significant rainfall comes.





Information from: The Capital Times, http://www.madison.com/tct

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly