New members of Wisconsin Legislature sworn in - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

New members of Wisconsin Legislature sworn in


The Wisconsin State Legislature began its two-year session Monday with the swearing in of new members.

Twenty-five new assembly members and three new state senators took the oath of office to begin their terms.

There are 14 new Democrats and 11 new Republicans in the assembly. There are two new Republicans and one new Democrat in the state senate.

Several of those new faces in Madison will represent central Wisconsin.

"To me, it's an honor, it's truly an honor and a privilege," State Rep. John Spiros (R-Marshfield).

"It's a very exciting day for all of us in Central Wisconsin," State Rep. Katrina Shankland (D-Stevens Point).

Sprios and Shankland say it's about helping to create jobs.

"What can we do for our area and our state to bring more jobs into Wisconsin?," Spiros told Newsline 9.

"We need to listen to our constituents and what they want is good legislation to put people back to work," Shankland said.

The swearing-in marked the beginning of their two-year term. Each name was read and each one signed a historic book.

These new members say they hope this legislative session will be different from the last.

Democratic and republican state assembly members agree--the next two years is about putting political differences aside and working together here in Madison.

"The voters overwhelmingly elected people on the principle of bipartisanship, that means willing to listen to both sides, listen to all sides," Shankland said.

"Bottom line is I think we need bipartisanship no matter what. That's number one, that's key -- we have to work together," Spiros said.

A promise of cooperation as the new term beings.

Gov. Scott Walker released a statement about the upcoming legislative session, saying, "Working together with both Republicans and Democrats, we will focus on policies that help the private sector create jobs, transform education, reform government, develop our workforce, and improve our infrastructure."

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WAOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Chief Engineer Russ Crass at 715-842-2251. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at