Feyereisen leads UWSP All-WIAC baseball award-winners - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Feyereisen leads UWSP All-WIAC baseball award-winners


JP Feyereisen has been named the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Pitcher of the year and six other Pointers earned conference year-end awards.

Feyereisen's selection marks the ninth year in a row, since 2005, the Pointers have had either a WIAC Position or Pitcher Player of the Year (sometimes both). Cam Seidl earned Pitcher of the Year honors for the Pointers in 2012.

Feyereisen led the WIAC with a 2.24 ERA and a boasted a 6-2 record. Feyereisen led the Pointers with 10 starts on the season and was second with 51 strikeouts in 64.1 innings pitched.

In addition to Feyereisen, four Pointers were named to the All-WIAC Team: shortstop Dan Douglas, first baseman Sean Gerber, starting pitcher Jacob Herbst, and catcher Ryan Schilter.

This marks the second time Douglas has been named to the All-WIAC Team, the first honor coming in 2011. Douglas led the WIAC with 76 hits and finished fourth in runs scored with 49.

Gerber has been named to the All-WIAC Team for the third consecutive season. Gerber led the WIAC in home runs (12) and RBIs (60). He also placed second in runs scored (60), second in doubles (17), and fourth in hits (70).

Herbst made 15 appearances (seven starts) for the Pointers while racking up a conference-high nine wins. Herbst led the Pointers with 66.1 innings pitched and 65 strikeouts. He finished the season with a 2.44 ERA.

Schilter makes the All-WIAC Team for the second consecutive season. His 21 stolen bases led the WIAC for the second consecutive season, and he also led the WIAC with 63 runs. Schilter's 73 hits are the second-most in the conference, and his nine home runs are good for fourth.

UWSP outfielder Jimmy Coady earned WIAC Honorable Mention. Coady finished fifth in the WIAC with 65 hits, and his .369 average is good for fourth on the team. Coady also finished third on the team in slugging percentage (.540), on-base percentage (.439) and total bases (95).

Senior Nick Douglas was named to the WIAC All-Sportsmanship team. Among Douglas's highlights with the Pointers is his very first at-bat at University Field in Stevens Point when he belted a home run.

After winning the 2013 WIAC Tournament championship the Pointers earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Midwest Regional. UWSP opens competition in Whitewater, Wis., against Benedictine at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, May 15.  

2013 All-WIAC Baseball Team

Name, School, Year, Position, Hometown (High School)

Steve Bartlein, Whitewater, Senior, Shortstop, South Milwaukee, Wis.

Dan Douglas, Stevens Point, Senior, Shortstop, East Troy, Wis.

Joel Effertz, La Crosse, Junior, Righthanded Pitcher, Ladysmith, Wis.

TJ Evanson, Superior, Sophomore, Firstbase, Lakeville, Minn. (North)

JP Feyereisen, Stevens Point, Sophomore, Righthanded Pitcher, River Falls, Wis.

Jared Fon, Whitewater, Junior, Thirdbase, Germantown, Wis.

Sean Gerber, Stevens Point, Senior, Firstbase, Stoughton, Wis.

Jacob Herbst, Stevens Point, Senior, Righthanded Pitcher, Park Falls, Wis.

Marty Herum, Whitewater, Sophomore, Firstbase, River Falls, Wis.

Bobby Kachel, Oshkosh, Junior, Firstbase/Outfield, La Crosse, Wis. (Aquinas)

Tyler Kamps, Oshkosh, Senior, Secondbase/Firstbase, Appleton, Wis. (East)

Tom Kerndt, Whitewater, Senior, Righthanded Pitcher, Lansing, Iowa

Justin Lambert, Whitewater, Senior, Righthanded Pitcher, Mt. Horeb, Wis.

Joe Pavlovich, Oshkosh, Sophomore, Righthanded Pitcher, Denmark, Wis.

Mikole Pierce, Whitewater, Sophomore, Rightfield, De Pere, Wis.

Scott Plaza, Whitewater, Junior, Righthanded Pitcher, Arlington Heights, Ill.

Michael Polcyn, Oshkosh, Sophomore, Shortstop, Ripon, Wis.

Matt Roberts, Whitewater, Junior, Righthanded Pitcher, Manitowoc, Wis. (Roncalli)

Ryan Schilter, Stevens Point, Senior, Catcher, West Bend, Wis. (West)

Michael Swift, Oshkosh, Sophomore, Secondbase/Thirdbase, Kenosha, Wis. (Bradford)

Honorable Mention

Mike Boushley, Platteville, Sophomore, Righthanded Pitcher, Hortonville, Wis.

Brooks Braga, La Crosse, Senior, Outfield, Middleton, Wis.

David Cladis, Whitewater, Senior, Secondbase, Joliet, Ill. (Catholic)

Jimmy Coady, Stevens Point, Sophomore, Outfield, La Crosse, Wis. (Aquinas)

Adam Cordova, La Crosse, Senior, Designated Hitter, Merrill, Wis.

Dylan Friend, Whitewater, Junior, Centerfield, Burlington, Wis.

Dan Genrich, Superior, Senior, Lefthanded Pitcher, Wausau, Wis. (West)

Mitch LaVelle, Stout, Freshman, Shortstop, Chippewa Falls, Wis.

Santiago Morales, Stout, Senior, Centerfield, West St. Paul, Minn. (Henry Sibley)

Garrett Novinski, La Crosse, Senior, Shortstop, Middleton, Wis.

JT Schneider, Whitewater, Senior, Leftfield, Oak Creek, Wis.

Travis Sindles, Oshkosh, Junior, Lefthanded Pitcher, Twin Lakes, Wis. (Wilmot Union)

Robbie Veith, Superior, Senior, Outfield, Brainerd, Minn.

Tim Verthein, La Crosse, Senior, Righthanded Pitcher, La Crescent, Minn.

Adam Widder, Stout, Sophomore, Righthanded Pitcher, Wauwatosa, Wis. (Milwaukee Lutheran)


All-Sportsmanship Team

Steve Bartlein, Whitewater, Senior, Shortstop, South Milwaukee, Wis.

Adam Cordova, La Crosse, Senior, Designated Hitter, Merrill, Wis.

Casey Dittel, Superior, Senior, Secondbase, Woodbury, Minn.

Nick Douglas, Stevens Point, Senior, Outfield/Secondbase, East Troy, Wis.

Kevin Fessler, Platteville, Junior, Catcher, Wauconda, Ill.

Matt Guida, Stout, Senior, Catcher, Hawley, Minn.

Matt Wells, Oshkosh, Senior, Righthanded Pitcher, Little Chute, Wis.

Position Player of the Year:  Marty Herum of Whitewater

Pitcher of the Year:  JP Feyereisen of Stevens Point

Coach of the Year:  John Vodenlich of Whitewater

Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete:  Adam Cordova of La Crosse

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WAOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Chief Engineer Russ Crass at 715-842-2251. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.