Walker declares state of emergency in 7 counties - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Walker declares state of emergency in 7 counties


MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Gov. Scott Walker has declared a state of emergency in seven southwestern Wisconsin counties due to flooding.
   Walker issued the emergency declaration on Wednesday for Ashland, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix, and Vernon counties. The declaration came after Walker toured flood-damaged areas near Boscobel.
   Walker says he has also directed the Wisconsin National Guard, and other state agencies, to assist as necessary.
   Walker says the state will work with communities to make emergency assistance funds available to eligible homeowners for rehabilitation and connect farmers with crop and livestock damage with assistance.
   The governor says the Department of Natural Resources is also available to help residents and local governments concerned about well contamination.

Powered by Frankly