Five central Wis. schools in new voucher program - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Five central Wis. schools in new voucher program


MADISON (WAOW) – Five private schools in central Wisconsin are among 25 schools named to participate in the statewide voucher program, the state Department of Public Instruction announced Thursday.

The 25 schools had 2,069 eligible students apply for the program, DPI said in a statement. The program is limited to 500 students for the upcoming school year.

DPI said 76 percent of the 2,069 eligible students did not attend a public school last year and 67 percent attended a private school.

DPI said it will allocate 10 seats to each of the 25 schools by a random drawing of eligible students and then fill the remaining 250 seats randomly.

The program allows public school students to attend private and religious schools using a taxpayer funded voucher worth about $6,500.

The central Wisconsin schools named to participate in the program and the students who applied are:

  • Columbus Catholic Schools in Marshfield (83).

  • Stevens Point Area Catholic Schools in Stevens Point and Plover (106).

  • Newman Catholic Schools in Wausau  and Rothschild (94).

  • Assumption Catholic Schools in Wisconsin Rapids (109),

  • Immanuel Lutheran School in Wisconsin Rapids (40).

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WAOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Chief Engineer Russ Crass at 715-842-2251. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at