Wisconsin's Abbrederis awarded Burlsworth Trophy - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Wisconsin's Abbrederis awarded Burlsworth Trophy


University of Wisconsin receiver Jared Abbrederis has been awarded the 2013 Burlsworth Trophy.

Abbrederis was a finalist with running back Trey Watts of the University of Tulsa and lineman Max Copeland of Missouri. The trophy was awarded Monday during a ceremony in Springdale.

The Burlsworth Trophy is given to the most outstanding collegiate football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The trophy is named in honor of former Arkansas Razorback Brandon Burlsworth, who walked on at UA in 1994 and later became a three-year starter and was named an All-American in 1998. He was selected by Indianapolis in the 1999 NFL Draft but died in an auto accident 11 days later.

Powered by Frankly