Packers RB Lacy AP top offensive rookie - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Packers RB Lacy AP top offensive rookie


Green Bay Packers running back Eddie Lacy has won The Associated Press NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award.

A second-round pick (61st overall) from Alabama, Lacy was a key performer in the Packers' offense, particularly when star quarterback Aaron Rodgers was sidelined for seven games. He rushed for 1,178 yards on 284 carries (4.1 average), with 11 touchdowns. He also had 35 receptions.

That was good enough for 35 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league in balloting announced Saturday night.

The first Packer to win the award since John Brockington in 1971, Lacy beat out San Diego wide receiver Keenan Allen, who received 12 votes.

He is the first running back to take the offensive rookie honors since Adrian Peterson in 2007.


Here is a list of all NFL season award winners:

» AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Eddie Lacy, RB, Green Bay Packers

» AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Sheldon Richardson, DE, New York Jets

» Salute to Service Award, presented by USAA: John Harbaugh, head coach, Baltimore Ravens

» Fantasy Player of the Year: Jamaal Charles, RB, Kansas City Chiefs

» Greatness on the Road: Nick Foles, QB, Philadelphia Eagles

» AP Comeback Player of the Year: Philip Rivers, QB, San Diego Chargers

» AP Coach of the Year: Ron Rivera, Carolina Panthers

» Don Shula High School Coach of the Year: Mike Grant, Eden Prairie (Minn.) H.S.

» Defensive Player of the Year: Luke Kuechly, LB, Carolina Panthers

» AP Offensive Player of the Year: Peyton Manning, QB, Denver Broncos

» Pepsi Next Rookie of the Year: Keenan Allen, WR, San Diego Chargers

» GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers

» Deacon Jones Player of the Year: Robert Mathis, DE, Indianapolis Colts

» Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year: Charles Tillman, CB, Chicago Bears

» Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year: Calvin Johnson, WR, Detroit Lions

» FedEx Air Player of the Year: Peyton Manning, QB, Denver Broncos

» FedEx Ground Player of the Year: LeSean McCoy, RB, Philadelphia Eagles

» AP Most Valuable Player: Peyton Manning, QB, Denver Broncos

Powered by Frankly