State Park Speedway: Tim Sauter wins second-straight Detjens Mem - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

State Park Speedway: Tim Sauter wins second-straight Detjens Memorial


Saturday night's Detjens Memorial race had multiple storylines coming in. From Scott Wimmer returning to race at State Park Speedway for the first time in ten years, to Mark Mackesy looking for his fourth Detjens victory, and Tim Sauter's attempt to win the race in back-to-back years.

Chris Weinkauf led the pack in the pole position when the green flag dropped, but after the 75 lap pit break it was Tim Sauter's #99 car in the lead. Sauter got a great jump on the restart and continued to build his lead.

Chris Wimmer in the #52 ran in second for most of the second half but could never close the gap on Sauter, and was eventually passed by Skylar Holzhausen for second place.

In the end, it was Tim Sauter repeating as the super late model Detjens Memorial champion.

"I'm just super happy to be able to win the Detjens race," said Sauter. "I was honored last year, and this year to repeat, I'm just super, super honored and thankful for a really good car to be able to win the race."


1. Tim Sauter

2. Skylar Halzhausen

3. Chris Wimmer

4. MG Gajewski

5. Mark Mackesy

6. Chris Weinkauf

7. Cole Yach

8. Natalie Decker

9. Ryan Hinner

10. Jeff Storm

11. Jason Weinkauf

12. Mike Eagan

13. Scott Wimmer

14. Travis Volm

15. Sterling "Tucker" Miller

16. Jesse Haase

17. Neil Knoblock

18. Mike Olson

19. Jay VanDerGeest

20. Burton Brown

21. Jeff Nowak

22. Racing Schuman


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WAOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Chief Engineer Russ Crass at 715-842-2251. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at