Guyana halts visas from countries hit by Ebola - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Guyana halts visas from countries hit by Ebola


 Guyana has become the latest country to restrict travelers from countries affected by the Ebola virus.

   Foreign Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett says Guyanese diplomatic missions have been directed not to issue visas to people from West African nations until further notice. Rodrigues-Birkett did not specify the countries Thursday but said it applies only to countries affected by the virus.

   She said Guyana is also asking anyone applying for a visa to the South American country to say whether they have been in any of the countries with Ebola outbreaks.

   Colombia announced Wednesday that it will not allow entry by anyone who has traveled to five West African nations within the previous month. St. Lucia said it would bar entry to people from the three West African nations most affected by Ebola.

Powered by Frankly