Recount in Marathon Co. confirms county board member selection - WAOW - Newsline 9, Wausau News, Weather, Sports

Recount in Marathon Co. confirms county board member selection


A Marathon County board member remained the winner after a recount was petitioned by his challenger. 

A hand-count of the ballots for the District 18 seat took three hours. 

Incumbent Craig McEwen received 456 voters, and Corrie Norrbom received 454 votes, according to the county clerk. 

McEwen won the race 10 days ago. 

"We received a petition after the April 3 election for a recount of county board supervisor district 18 from the candidate that lost," said Nan Kottke, the Marathon County Clerk.  

The County Clerk's office is required to hold a recount if a petition is filed. 

On Friday, the Village of Weston and Village of Rothschild board members assisted the clerk in recounting votes. The results were the same Friday as they were on election night. 

An error was found from a Village of Weston precinct. Somehow, two ballots from another county supervisor race got misplaced. 

"That did not change the totals at all because there was not a way to find out what two ballots they were," Kottke said. "The electors should have noticed they were not in the right supervisory district at that time, and they could have requested another ballot to correct that."

Officials said a recount is a good audit to know that precinct counters at the polls are accurate. 

McEwen will take the oath as District 18 Supervisor on the Marathon County Board Thursday. 

Powered by Frankly